Broome, Australia

www.globosapiens.net--australia--western-australia--broome--id=752

When people say they are going to the “The Outback” you automatically know that they are talking about Australia. Currently, I’m preparing for my own expedition to “The Outback,” and it isn’t going to be the typical Australian experience. I will never set foot in Sydney (apart from an airport), and I certainly won’t be surfing or eating vegimite sandwiches. This summer I’m going backpacking and sea kayaking in the Australian dessert, otherwise known as Broome.

The trip is approaching quickly and lately I’ve been wondering to myself: What exactly have I gotten myself into? I’m going to be traveling by foot and kayak for 45 days and I think my wardrobe consists of about 3 shirts and 2 pairs of pants. This is probably going to be the most challenging thing I will do in my entire life and I couldn’t be more excited or more nervous. Judging by my adventurous nature, the 110 miles of hiking that I’ll be doing through canyons, woodland planes, and cane grass will be very exciting and rewarding. Not to mention the amazing views I’ll witness while sea kayaking.

The other day I booked my flights and made a hotel reservation for the several nights I plan on taking to my self in-between travel and it got me thinking, what am I going to do by myself in this desolate area? Naturally I did some research.

Here is a list of the most popular things to do in Broome:

1. Swim on Cable Beach– Cable Beach faces the Indian Ocean and it is very popular to ride camelback down the beach at sunset!
2. Visit Chinatown– Chinatown is a cultural hub in which visitors can find Broome’s famous pearls, opium dens, cafe’s, shops, and brothels.
3. Walk in a dinosaur’s footprints– Broome is home to many archeological sites featuring multiple dinosaur footprints and fossils.
4. Visit the Broome Bird Observatory– This observatory is home to over 40% of Australia’s bird species and is a guaranteed spectacular site, even if you aren’t an avid bird watcher.
5. Horizontal Falls– the Indian Ocean’s powerful tide created a natural horizontal waterfall, certainly something not to be missed
6. Hovercraft– Broome is one of the only places in the world that offers hovercraft flights out to sea to look at shipwrecks, wildlife, and dinosaur footprints!
Broome is a great place to visit if you enjoy doing outdoor activities! Hopefully I’ll have an opportunity to take part in a few of these opportunities!

 

gantheaume-point-6[6]

broome-mangrovehotel-night

Leave a comment